Life on life's terms


http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/22/daily-prompt-harsh/

Well, I have been friends with this person since middle school and he is now dead. I miss him dearly. He always told me how things were. I wore my feelings on my shoulders so, he was extra harsh in his opinions in my eyes. This daily post reminded me of the time he told me how I was REALLY!

It was a normal conversation we were having. We both came from a shady background.  I always considered myself as being an”ethical” drug addict. I am clean and sober now. But, that’s a story for another day. Anyway, to be a drug addict you must do something’s that are not so nice in order to get your next fix. The old saying goes “You got to do one of three things to feed your addiction, wheel, deal, or steal.” Sad but true that is how it is.
Now, that sets you with a brief synopsis on my world in my eyes at the topic of what it takes to be an addict. I proclaimed to my friend this about myself. I felt I was an ethical drug addict! After all, in my blurred vision, I didn’t steal, I didn’t barter or trade goods or services for drugs, so I wasn’t a wheeler. And I didn’t deal. (At that point in my addiction I hadn’t done any of that)
I got my drugs with money or for free. Now, my friend says to me.”SHIT, I HAVE WATCHED YOU TAKE A PERSONS LAST DOLLAR AND THEY GIVE IT TO YOU WILLINGLY AND THANK YOU FOR TAKING IT. LEAVING THEM WITH NOTHING.”(he meant metaphorically)  In other words I was a con! He said I used my charm to get people to do what I wanted. He said I used people! Oh my gosh was I applaud!  He was telling me like it was though. We were in our teens during this conversation and I guess I felt I was really being an addict that had morals and scruples. Wow, I was naive. 
Later on in my addition I did end up doing all three of those things in one form or another. My morals and values were gone!
I’m glad to say my life is finally different and drug free. However,  I have always remembered his words so I recognize that character flaw popping up in my new life.
My friend called it as he saw it. Sad but true it was………

Comments on: "Daily post/sad but true" (1)

  1. […] 1. Harsh | The Magic Black Book 2. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Emotions 3. Winter Is Near (Harsh) | photo potpourri 4. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Under the Monkey Tree 5. Accurate | Lost in Adeline’s 6. Criticism never kills | Clandestine Destiny 7. That Was Way Harsh [Daily Prompt: Sad But True] | unknowinglee 8. ‘You are DELUDED!’ | alienorajt 9. Telling myself off. | thoughtsofrkh 10. Always impatient | crookedeyebrows 11. Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Criticism | Anniemation Floe 12. (22) Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Family, Photos, Food & Craft 13. Daily Prompt: Sad But True « Mama Bear Musings 14. My Fiancé thinks I am a Junkie! | Shiwanidoez 15. Writing Advice; “Good Writing Is Persisting” (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat 16. the truth hurts like a 4 year old’s stomp on your foot | wannabepoet 17. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Awl and Scribe 18. Lolz Criticism | મન ની વાત 19. DAILY PROMPT: SAD BUT TRUE? | SERENDIPITY 20. You’re Useless | submissivelysecret 21. Daily Prompt: Sad But True (A Conversation Between Friends) | I Hope You’re Taking Notes 22. She Sees the World Through Rose Coloured Glasses … | Girlie Groove 23. Maybe it’s you. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Reinvention of Mama 24. Puppy Mill Life… | Haiku By Ku 25. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Chicomallorca’s Blog 26. Harshest | Hope* the happy hugger 27. Regarding Those Friends Who See Through You to Something Better: | Rob’s Surf Report 28. The Lurker’s List | Misery 29. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | The Story of a Guy 30. Daily Prompt: Sad but True | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss 31. Sad but True | Kate Murray 32. Don’t take it personally … | 365 And Counting 33. I do not like doing things wrong! | Eccentric Lady 34. Admit It. | ayimas 35. No willpower | Life is great 36. Oooo…ouch…. | Maybe Not So Zen… 37. Sad but True? | Going New Places! 38. Sad But True | The Nameless One 39. You’re like a cat – you only call when you want something | Feel & Rebuild Your Self Confidence 40. Bad juju gaga | Lady Goo Goo Gaga 41. DP: Sad but True | The Deepwater Goldfish 42. MISS MISS SPELLER | Emotional Fitness 43. Life is Harsh | Kansa Muse 44. A Torment To Bear | Flowers and Breezes 45. Criticism Writing Prompt | Chez Lavande 46. MY NARCISSISM | hastywords 47. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Time Collage 48. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Moments Thru Lens 49. Harsh | Rebecca Barray 50. Me, Myself, and I. | Many More Ripples 51. Sad But True: Daily Prompt | lifebeinggirly 52. Steve Says…. 53. Daily Prompt: Sad but true | Valley Girl Gone Country 54. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Processing the life 55. Daily Prompt: Sad but True | Winging it 56. Harsh? | Taking One Day At A Time 57. Harsh | 58. From the mouths of babes | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl 59. Redo | CurTales 60. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Books and Movies 61. daily prompt: truth – most can’t take it | r | one studio architecture 62. Ouch. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | mardmood 63. The Platypus 64. “Sad But True” | Blond Boy Blogging 65. Sad But True: I Can’t Sing a Note | Half Baked Log 66. Daily Prompt; Sad But True | terry1954 67. “You suck, please quit, now.” | Mind of a Mouse 68. Daily post: Sad but true… | helen meikle’s scribblefest 69. Performance Review | Wary, Contrary and no Virgin Mary 70. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | GG’s World 71. Daily Prompt: Is that Supposed to be Abstract? | One Starving Activist 72. A Little Touch | Wiley’s Wisdom 73. “Middle Tabler” | Memoirs of a Kenyan 74. Oh, That Could’ve Been Harsh (Daily Post) | Lynne McAennyl 75. Daily Prompt: Sad But True. | Thirty, Start, Go! 76. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Overcoming Bloglessness 77. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | The Daily Post « The Blogging Path 78. ❀ Daily Prompt: Sad But True ❀ | Beats of Pieces 79. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Your Daily Dose 80. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | What Matters | Silver Wonderland 81. Harsh | ashwitaashok 82. Words | Barefoot on Rainy Days 83. Throw Down the Rope | Natural Black Earth 84. A Better Friend | jennsmidlifecrisis 85. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Musical Foodie Love 86. Day Four: Harsh Criticism | Clearing My Voice 87. Sensitivity training | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving 88. Tears of no sense | veryukrainian 89. Now Hiring: Media Mogul | tjbarkerseattle 90. I was THAT nurse | My Strong Medicine 91. Daily post/sad but true | annetteharris42 […]

Leave a comment